HYNOVA, our transparent project

26 May 2020

What is the status of your hydrogen tender yacht project?

We have studied the feasibility, built a business plan, found financing and we even have a prototype under construction. Our HYNOVA project is mature, almost complete and has already climbed many steps. It is very innovative in various fields such as renewable energy storage, ecology and energy transition, new mobility technology, the world of yachting, maritime regulations, etc. We are also working on a new project for the hydrogen industry. Thanks in particular to universal analysis tools, we can see that our project is seizing the opportunities of a real energy revolution in progress and current events prove to us every day that our direction is both complex in form and obvious in substance. It is not easy to portray the functioning and vision of an organisation already broken down into strategies and action plans in an existing ecosystem made up of numerous partners (EODev, CLYD etc.), associates (AMINVEST) and stakeholders (Marseille Métropole for the new modes of mobility, important upcoming events (such as the Yachting Festival de Cannes).

We hope to market our first tender yachts as early as September 2020.Nous espérons commercialiser nos premiers tender yachts dès septembre 2020.

Do you define your Start up as a designer of ecological yachts?

No yacht can claim to be environmentally friendly as its design has an environmental impact, but we want to design less polluting yachts and participate in a more virtuous mobility.

HYNOVA proposes a hydrogen powered electric yacht and we know that when it is produced by electrolysis, the so-called “green” hydrogen is very ecological. In addition to this innovative electric “motorization”, we also want to build eco-designed tender yachts where materials will be as biologically sourced as possible and researched for the lowest possible environmental impact.

Where can you find service stations to fill up with hydrogen on the water?

On our territory, from the Côte Bleue to the Côte d’Azur, there is a hydrogen refueling station at 350 bar pressure in the port of Toulon. Another one is in Le Castellet, it can deliver hydrogen cylinders all over the territory. A green hydrogen production station is under construction in Signes in the Var. We have high hopes for offshore wind turbines that can, on mobile barges, produce green hydrogen as is already the case in other countries.

Map taken from https://www.h2-mobile.fr/stations-hydrogene

Of course, more and more hydrogen filling stations will be present on French territory in the coming years, particularly due to the significant increase in municipalities choosing hydrogen buses, as well as the increase in taxi companies whose fleet is made up of hydrogen vehicles or road transport that is heading in the same direction. According to a November 2017 study conducted by the McKinsey consulting firm for the Hydrogen Council – a global initiative that brings together major industrial, transport and energy companies, including Shell, Total and Engie – hydrogen will account for 18% of energy consumption in 2050, compared with barely 2 to 3% today. In other words, a huge global market estimated at 2.5 trillion dollars and 30 million people working. For France, this represents 40 billion euros and 150,000 jobs.

113 million fuel cell vehicles are expected to be on the road in 2050. In France, the study announces the deployment of some 400 hydrogen stations over the next ten years to supply 200,000 vehicles.

How long does it take to recharge the boat with hydrogen?

Well, no, that’s one of the strong points of the system that has been set up: it only takes a few minutes to fill up.

How far can you travel with a full tank of hydrogen?

Again, it’s difficult to answer this question because it depends on your speed, the currents, etc.

How does the refuelling process work?

Several procedures are currently being studied in order to make recharging on board as easy as possible.

For a given distance, what is the most economical energy? Hydrogen or diesel or electric?

For the moment hydrogen is not the most profitable, even more so the green hydrogen that we want to promote at HYNOVA. I think that electric is probably the most economical energy to date.

What is the difference between grey, blue and green hydrogen?

Grey” hydrogen comes from natural gas, some of which is made carbon-free thanks to the CO2 capture and storage technology known as “blue” hydrogen.

The “green” hydrogen that HYNOVA wants to promote is created from the electrolysis of water. If the electric current required for this operation comes from renewable energy sources such as solar energy, for example, this hydrogen is truly ecological and the product of its “combustion” is made up of water (water vapour and oxygen). This is particularly interesting because it is very complicated to store the energy produced too abundantly by renewable energies such as solar or wind power. In order not to “lose” this energy, it can be used for electrolysis and produce hydrogen that will be used at another time. The storage of hydrogen is particularly simple and efficient than the storage of electricity (batteries).

Currently 90% and probably more of the hydrogen produced is produced via fossil energy (natural gas). We are not yet ready to produce “clean” hydrogen.

In what way would a hydrogen yacht be more eco-responsible?

Many advances have been made recently in the field of so-called “green” hydrogen, in particular thanks to the fact that more and more major energy suppliers, wanting to increase the share of renewable energies in their energy mix, have already invested in electrolysers enabling them to recover the energy produced in excess quantities by renewable energies and stored in the form of hydrogen because it is the simplest solution and allows the least amount of energy to be wasted.

Insofar as HYNOVA is committed to promoting hydrogen energy from this non-polluting technology as much as possible, there is a real consistency in our discourse which consists in saying that our product is not an end in itself but just a stone in the edifice of a major change in behavioural patterns which goes far beyond our company, which is only one link in an even greater upheaval in consumption and travel habits that the world is undergoing.

In addition, the materials chosen will be as biologically sourced and/or truly recyclable as possible, always in the same sincere and authentic approach of wanting to have the least possible impact on the environment.

Moreover, the pilot boat of our partner Energy Observer is currently travelling around the world thanks in particular to the green hydrogen it produces by electrolysis on board. The technology already exists.

Sources :

« Two thirds of the EU’s hydrogen consumption will be green hydrogen by 2050 », he predicted in an exchange with euractiv the European directive which imposes 32% of renewable energies by 2030.

Daan Peters, Director of Energy at Guidehouse

Is HYNOVA 40 approved?

We are working with Energy Observer Developments for Toyota’s latest generation, smaller, reliable and powerful hydrogen-powered electric motor solution with fuel cell. The actual integration will be carried out and the homologations will be made by the company Alternative Energie who, in partnership with Eve Système, have already integrated this kind of innovative solution and obtained the homologations on river (people) transport shuttles (of course these shuttles have a less powerful motorization than the HYNOVA 40, hence the challenge of our project).

Have you carried out an industrial risk analysis?

HYNOVA is, in a way, an aggregator of already existing solutions, which are themselves highly regulated. The industrial risk analyses of each of the technologies brought together have all already been carried out and each one even requires specific approvals. That said, HYNOVA, in order to obtain the homologation of these ships, has sent the Veritas offices for an industrial risk analysis of the complete system implemented.

Can one participate in the HYNOVA project or become a shareholder?

HYNOVA’s capital is not subject to opening for the moment but we are always looking for partners, support or advice. This is why we are thinking of setting up a croudfounding campaign as well as a public consultation because we know that for many it is urgent to make the energy transition and the supporters of this project that we like to call the Hynov’actors are welcome to share our news on our social networks or to promote, in their circle, green hydrogen as a less polluting energy source.

How big is the market for electric boats?

For the moment the electric boat market represents only 1 to 2% of the global market. According to the conclusions of the 2019 IDTechEx report, the electric boat market is expected to grow “exponentially” over the next ten years. According to the report, while about a hundred manufacturers are already present on the market, the report estimates that the electric and hybrid boat segment will continue to grow at an exponential rate over the next ten years. While a hundred or so manufacturers are already present on the market, the report estimates that the electric and hybrid boat segment could be worth up to $20 billion worldwide by 2027.

HYNOVA is currently the only fuel cell electric marine vessel.

Is hydrogen dangerous?

Hydrogen is a natural element, it is also the most present element on Earth, we ourselves are 10% hydrogen. It is true that hydrogen is a flammable gas, which is why storage solutions are extremely reliable. In terms of safety, the storage reserves have been tested and are resistant to live ammunition and are designed to effectively withstand fire and impact. Their structure is designed so that if too great an impact were to occur, they would deform and their contents would slowly escape so that they would melt into the air without risk to health or ignite.

https://www.h2-mobile.fr/dossiers/securite-vehicules-hydrogene/

News

Dernières actualités

The HYNOVA jellyfish

As you may have noticed, on our site and in our communications, the jellyfish symbol comes up regularly. Some of you

All news about HYNOVA

HYNOVA, notre projet en toute transparence

26 mai 2020

Où en est votre projet de tender yachts à hydrogène ?

Nous avons étudié la faisabilité, bâti un business plan, trouvé des financements et nous avons même un démonstrateur en construction. Notre projet HYNOVA est mature, presque abouti et a déjà gravi de nombreuses marches. Il est très innovant dans des domaines variés comme le stockage d’énergies renouvelables, l’écologie et la transition énergétique, la technologie des nouvelles mobilités, le monde du yachting, la réglementation maritime etc. Grâce notamment à des outils d’analyses universels, on constate que notre projet saisit les opportunités d’une véritable révolution énergétique en cours et l’actualité nous prouve tous les jours que notre direction est à la fois complexe dans sa forme et évidente sur le fond. Il n’est pas évident de dépeindre le fonctionnement et la vision d’une organisation déjà déclinée en stratégies et plans d’actions dans un écosystème existant constitué de nombreux partenaires (EODev, CLYD etc.), associés (AMINVEST) et parties prenantes (Marseille Métropole pour les nouveaux modes de mobilités, des évènements importants à venir (comme le Yachting Festival de Cannes).

Nous espérons commercialiser nos premiers tenders dès septembre 2020.

Définissez-vous votre Start up comme concepteur de yachts écologiques ?

Aucun yacht ne peut se prétendre écologique dans la mesure où ne serait-ce que sa conception a un impact environnemental mais nous souhaitons concevoir des yachts moins polluants, et participer à une mobilité plus vertueuse.

HYNOVA propose un yacht électrique à hydrogène et nous savons que lorsque qu’il est produit par électrolyse, l’hydrogène dit « vert » est très écologique. Outre cette « motorisation » électrique innovante, nous souhaitons également construire des tenders éco-conçus où les matériaux seront au maximum biosourcés et recherchés pour le plus faible impact environnemental possible.

Où trouver des stations-service pour faire le plein d’hydrogène sur l’eau ?

Pour ce qui est de notre territoire, de la Côte Bleue à la Côte d’Azur, il existera très prochainement une station d’avitaillement en hydrogène de type 350 bars de pression sur le port de Toulon. Une autre se trouve au Castellet, elle peut livrer des bonbonnes d’hydrogène sur tout le territoire. Une station de production d’hydrogène vert est en construction à Signes dans le Var. Nous espérons beaucoup de l’éolienne offshore qui peut, sur des barges mobiles, produire de l’hydrogène vert comme c’est déjà le cas dans d’autres pays.

Carte extraite du site https://www.h2-mobile.fr/stations-hydrogene/

Bien entendu, de plus en plus de stations à hydrogène seront présentes sur le territoire français ces prochaines années, notamment du fait de l’augmentation importante des municipalités choisissant les bus à hydrogène ainsi que l’augmentation des compagnies de taxi dont la flotte est composée de véhicules à hydrogène ou encore le transport routier qui prend la même direction. Selon une étude de novembre 2017 menée par le cabinet de conseil McKinsey pour le Hydrogen Council — initiative mondiale qui regroupe des grandes entreprises de l’industrie, du transport et de l’énergie, dont Shell, Total et Engie  —, l’hydrogène représentera 18 % de la consommation d’énergie en 2050 contre à peine 2 à 3 % aujourd’hui. Autant dire un marché global gigantesque estimé à 2.500 milliards de dollars et du travail pour 30 millions de personnes. Rapporté à la France, cela représente 40 milliards d’euros et 150.000 emplois.

113 millions de véhicules à pile à combustible devraient rouler en 2050. En France, l’étude annonce pour les dix prochaines années le déploiement de quelques 400 stations à hydrogène, pour alimenter 200.000 véhicules.

Est-ce long de recharger le bateau en hydrogène ?

Eh bien non, justement c’est un des points forts du système mis en place, quelques minutes suffisent pour faire le plein.

Quelle distance peut-on parcourir avec le plein d’hydrogène ?

Là encore, il est difficile de répondre car cela dépend de votre vitesse, des courants etc. À titre informatif, notre démonstrateur peut naviguer 5 heures à 10 noeuds et plus de 2h15 à 22 noeuds avant de devoir s’arrêter pour recharger les batteries grâce à l’hydrogène restant et repartir pour la même distance deux fois de plus.

Comment se déroule le rechargement ?

Plusieurs procédures sont actuellement à l’étude afin de faciliter au maximum le rechargement à bord.

Pour une distance donnée, quelle est l’énergie la plus économique ? L’hydrogène ou le diesel ou encore l’électrique ?

Pour l’instant l’hydrogène n’est pas le plus rentable, encore plus l’hydrogène vert que nous voulons promouvoir chez HYNOVA. Je pense qu’à ce jour l’électrique est sans doute l’énergie la plus économique puisque l’électricité est fournie par n’importe quel port. Par contre, vous n’atteindrez pas les performances d’HYNOVA 40 avec un yacht électrique à batteries.

Quelle est la différence entre l’hydrogène gris, bleu et vert ?

L’hydrogène « gris » provient de gaz naturel dont une partie est rendue sans carbone grâce à la technologie de capture et de stockage du CO2 que l’on appelle l’hydrogène « bleu ».

L’hydrogène « vert », celui qu’HYNOVA veut promouvoir est, lui, créé à partir de l’électrolyse de l’eau. Si le courant électrique nécessaire à cette opération provient d’énergie renouvelable comme le solaire par exemple, cet hydrogène est réellement écologique et le produit de sa « combustion » est constitué d’eau (vapeur d’eau et oxygène). C’est particulièrement intéressant car il est très compliqué de stocker l’énergie produite trop abondamment par les énergies renouvelables comme le solaire ou l’éolienne, pour ne pas « perdre » cette énergie, elle peut être utilisée pour l’électrolyse et produit de l’hydrogène qui servira à un autre moment. Le stockage de l’hydrogène étant particulièrement simple et efficace que le stockage d’électricité (batteries).

Un des éléments que l’on nous a déjà objecté était : « Actuellement 90% et sans doute davantage de l’hydrogène produit l’est par l’intermédiaire d’énergie fossile (gaz naturel). Nous ne sommes pas encore prêts à produire de l’hydrogène propre ».

En quoi un yacht à hydrogène serait plus éco-responsable ?

De nombreuses avancées ont été faites récemment dans le domaine de l’hydrogène dit « vert » notamment grâce au fait que de plus en plus de grands fournisseurs d’énergie, voulant augmenter la part des énergies renouvelables dans leur mix énergétique ont déjà investi dans des électrolyseurs leur permettant de récupérer l’énergie produite en trop grande quantité par les énergies renouvelables et stockées sous forme d’hydrogène car c’est la solution la plus simple et qui permet le moins de déperdition d’énergie.

Dans la mesure où HYNOVA s’engage à promouvoir au maximum l’énergie hydrogène issue de cette technologie non polluante, il y a une véritable cohérence dans notre discours qui consiste à dire que notre produit n’est pas une fin en soi mais juste une pierre à l’édifice d’un changement majeur dans les modes de comportement qui dépasse largement notre entreprise qui n’est qu’un maillon dans un bouleversement plus grand encore des habitudes de consommation et de déplacement que le monde est en train d’opérer.

De plus, les matériaux choisis seront au maximum biosourcés et/ou véritablement recyclables, toujours dans cette même démarche sincère et authentique de vouloir impacter le moins possible l’environnement.

D’ailleurs, le bateau pilote de notre partenaire Energy Observer voyage actuellement autour du monde grâce notamment à de l’hydrogène vert qu’il produit par électrolyse à bord. La technologie existe déjà.

« Deux tiers de la consommation d’hydrogène de l’UE sera de l’hydrogène vert d’ici 2050 » , a-t-il prédit dans un échange avec euractiv la directive européenne qui impose 32% d’énergies renouvelables d’ici 2030.

Sources : Daan Peters, Directeur de l’énergie chez Guidehouse

Est-ce que l’HYNOVA 40 est homologué ?

Nous travaillons avec Energy Observer Developments pour la solution moteurs électriques propulsion hydrogène avec pile à combustible dernière génération, plus petite, fiable et puissante de la marque Toyota. L’intégration à proprement parlée sera effectuée et les certifications seront faites par l’entreprise Alternative Energie qui, en partenariat avec Eve Système, ont déjà intégré ce genre de solution innovante et obtenu les homologations sur des navettes de transport (de personnes) fluviales (bien entendu ces navettes ont une motorisation moins puissantes que l’HYNOVA 40, d’où le challenge de notre projet). Hynova 40 sera le premier navire de plaisance avec un système hydrogène-pile à combustible à être homologué.

Avez-vous fait une analyse de risque industriel ?

HYNOVA étant en quelques sortes, un agrégateur de solutions déjà existantes et elles-mêmes très réglementées. Les analyses de risque industriel de chacune des technologies réunies ont déjà toutes été menées et font même chacune nécessité d’homologations spécifiques. Cela dit HYNOVA, dans le but d’obtenir, elle aussi, l’homologation de ces navires, a dépêché Bureau Véritas pour une analyse de risque industriel du système complet mis en œuvre.

Peut-on participer au projet HYNOVA ou devenir actionnaire ?

Le capital d’HYNOVA n’est pas sujet à ouverture pour l’instant mais nous sommes toujours à la recherche de partenaires, soutiens ou conseils avisés. C’est pourquoi nous pensons mettre en place une campagne de crowdfounding ainsi qu’une consultation publique car nous savons que pour beaucoup il est urgent de faire la transition énergétique et les partisans de ce projet que nous aimons appeler les Hynov’acteurs sont les bienvenus pour partager nos actualités sur nos réseaux sociaux ou promouvoir, dans leur cercle, l’hydrogène vert comme source d’énergie moins polluante.

Quelle est la taille du marché des bateaux électriques ?

Pour l’instant le marché du bateau électrique ne représente qu’1 à 2% du marché global. Selon les conclusions du rapport 2019 IDTechEx, le marché du bateau électrique devrait connaitre « une croissance exponentielle » au cours des dix années à venir. Toujours selon ce rapport, Alors qu’une centaine de constructeurs sont déjà présents sur le marché, le rapport estime que le segment du bateau électrique et hybride pourrait peser jusqu’à 20 milliards de dollars à l’échelle mondiale en 2027.

HYNOVA est pour l’instant le seul bateau maritime électrique à pile à combustible.

Est-ce que l’hydrogène est dangereux ?

L’hydrogène est un élément naturel, il est aussi l’élément le plus présent sur Terre, nous-mêmes sommes constitués à 10 % d’hydrogène. Il est vrai que l’hydrogène est un gaz inflammable, c’est pourquoi les solutions de stockage sont extrêmement fiables. Au niveau sécurité, les réserves de stockage ont été testées et résistent à des tirs de balles réelles et sont conçues pour résister efficacement au feu et aux chocs. Leur structure est établie de sorte que si un trop grand choc se produisait, elles se déformeraient et leur contenu s’échapperait lentement de façon à se fondre dans l’air sans risque pour la santé ou de s’enflammer.

https://www.h2-mobile.fr/dossiers/securite-vehicules-hydrogene/

Actualités

Dernières actualités

La méduse HYNOVA

Comme vous avez pu le constater, sur notre site et dans nos communications, le symbole de la méduse revient

Toute l’actualité d’hynova